image description

Congratulations award winners!

On Friday, May 3 students, faculty, staff, mentors, and the Boise legal community came together for a celebratory evening. The spirited spring gathering served to honor student and faculty award winners from the academic year and to collectively toast the Law School receiving its ABA full approval. 

Before the awards were presented, the ceremony was opened with a prayer from the campus minister, Deaconess Sonja Baumeister. 

The Outstanding Alumni Award was presented to Thalia Radey and Katelyn Mitchell. Thalia, a 2016 graduate, is a founding member and current co-chair of the Concordia Law Alumni Association and is actively involved with the school as a mentor and frequent participant in school-sponsored events. In her solo law practice, Thalia demonstrates her passion and dedication to clients of limited means by providing them access to legal representation. 

After graduating from Concordia in 2017, Katelyn passed the Idaho and Hawaii bar examinations. A solo practitioner in the Boise area, she has been integral in growing the alumni association, developing the organizational structure, and organizing many alumni events. Katelyn is also active in the Idaho Trial Lawyers Association, the Young Lawyers Section of the Idaho State Bar, and Boise Young Professionals. 

Chloe McClintick received the Jack McMahon Pro Bono Service Impact Award for providing legal assistance to a variety of underserved populations, including victims of domestic violence and veterans and their families. Chloe has demonstrated her passion and unwavering commitment to serving others by performing over 250 hours of pro bono service on behalf of ten different projects and providers. 

The Richard C. Fields Civility Award honors a student who demonstrates a commitment to professionalism and civility in the law school and legal profession. This year’s honoree, Christine Mosier-Crysler, is regarded for her commitment to mentoring fellow students and for her consummate respect for peers, faculty, and staff. A part-time student balancing her personal and professional responsibilities, Christine served as a Dean’s Ambassador and was active in Concordia’s externship and pro bono programs. 

Every year, the student body at Concordia Law selects two professors for special recognition. This year, students chose to honor Jeff Nye as Adjunct Professor of the Year and McKay Cunningham as Professor of the Year.

Professor Cunningham, who joined Concordia in 2014, has a wide breadth of legal and scholarly research interests including cybersecurity and date privacy, constitutional law, and property law.  Students praise his passion for their achievements, which they report are rivaled only by his passion for discussing gerrymandering. Professor Cunningham’s students believe his commitment to creating a learning space for thoughtful legal discussions are better preparing them for practice. 

Recognized by his students for leading engaging classes and his ability to break down complex issues into understandable components, Jeff Nye was honored as Adjunct Professor of the Year. A legal research and writing professor, Nye’s students believe his knowledge of the law was enhanced by the real-world examples he brought to class discussions. 

Congratulations to our 2018-2019 award winners!